Posted in Christian, Mental Health, Self Help

Laugh Out Loud

As a little girl, I was always curious.Whatever people were doing, I needed to know why they were doing it and I had to experience it for myself. I watched my mom a lot and needed to know why she did the things that she did or had the things that she had…….aaaannnnd I got in trouble for my curiosity. For instance, I’m guilty of eating multiple pieces of “candy” from her purse one night. Each piece was colorful. Each piece was sweet. After one would dissolve, I would press another one out of the foil as I watched my VHS of recorded music videos from “Video Soul.” The consequences of my actions was that those sweet pieces were not candy at all….they were laxatives!!!! Oh the horror!!! My mom still laughs at me.

Another example would be going through my mother’s mail and completing forms that I had no business filling out. I remember believing the slogan that I could get 10 CDs for ONLY 99 cents! I was so confident that I filled out 2 forms. I could afford to give $2. Out of those 20 CDs, I ordered No Doubt, Aaliyah, Subway and some rap music…perhaps a Celine Dion album too. I was feeling ecstatic!!…until my momma got the bill in the mail. Turns out that it was a lot more that $2.

How does this apply to mental health? Life is not always easy, but somewhere in the rubble is a LOT of laughs. For me, I have a lot of memories that can shut my whole day down. Memories that have left a lasting impression to the point where I can be to scared to put one foot in front of the other. But in spite of all the muck and mire lies memories that will keep me laughing about life.

It’s ok to laugh and to do it out loud!!!

I will leave you with this. I have always suffered from low self esteem. But I remember in middle school that I was in “strong like” with a boy whose name I will not mention.He never knew my “feelings for him.” We had indoor recess and some girls challenged me to race them in the gym. I was a fast runner. I heard, “On your mark! Get set! Go!” We were off! I ran full speed ahead. Suddenly, I caught a glimpse of him and my eyes stayed on him. I forgot that I was running…..BAM! Full speed ahead into the gym wall. Do you think he noticed me? Hahahahahahaha!!!!

Everything that you have experienced in life is what makes you YOU! The good times and the bad times. These were uncomfortable moments, but I am so grateful that I have them. SMILE and LAUGH OUT LOUD!

Psalm 139:14

I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Wonderful are Your works,
And my soul knows it very well.

Leave a comment